10 Sep

seanomurphy:

This is fully worth a ‘reblog’. The first time I typed ‘reboot’ by unusual synchronicity.

Originally posted on sink or schwim.:

Maybe it’s all the down time I’ve had recently, but lately I’ve been thinking a lot about writing a short story or two. I haven’t written one for a while now, so I went online to find some tips to help jump start the process. After a little bit of searching, I came across this gem from one of my favorite writers, the one and only Kurt Vonnegut. I remember reading his story “EPICAC” back in 8th grade, about a computer that learns to fall in love. The way Vonnegut packs so much punch into such a small package is truly incredible. Here’s the first paragraph. It basically defies the reader not to continue on:

Hell, it’s about time someone told about my friend EPICAC. After all, he cost the taxpayers $776,434,927.54. They have a right to know about him, picking up a check like that. EPICAC got a…

View original 396 more words

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,845 other followers

