A little Rx from the Good Dr. Hunter S.

7 Oct

 

“As things stand now, I am going to be a writer. I’m not sure that I’m going to be a good one or even a self-supporting one, but until the dark thumb of fate presses me to the dust and says, ‘you are nothing’, I will be a writer.” – Hunter S. Thompson

 

How the Dr. cures writer’s block! Write. Edit. Reload.

I don’t have anything amazing to share this Sunday. I am behind schedule on the novel. A lot of what I have written is going back and meshing with some “plan of attack” novel planning. I am considering NaNoWriMo? Any advice? Is it helpful or poison to a new novel. I think it was Hemingway who said, “Sometimes you just have to sit down and write the damned thing!” If he didn’t say it (and I have no reason but hero worship and an active imagination to attribute it to him) then maybe the good doctor did. In any case, I have nothing to update except that  I am taking it all back to step one. Hopefully, next Sunday will be a real true update about “The Novel”. Until then let’s chat about Thompson, tommy guns and NaNoWriMo as a laxative to the mental block.  Hit me in the comments. Tell me to make something more of these posts lately and to stop blaming my dreaded day job for not having time to be so “very novel”.

 

No, I have NOT been drinking…it is the wee hours of Sunday morning, my goodness…you crazy bloggers!

English: Hunter S. Thompson, Miami Book Fair I...

English: Hunter S. Thompson, Miami Book Fair International, 1988 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Am I the only one that misses the mad doctor?

*********************************************************************************

 

 

 

If you haven’t yet, please connect with me on social media:

 

 

 

Please follow this blog by email or on your WordPress reader page (or both). If you found any of this dribble valuable then please feel free to share it with others. I provided the share buttons so you bring the shares or not this time…I mean it is really up to you but the buttons are there waiting on you to fulfill their one and only purpose!

 

 

 

As always your comments are appreciated.

 

 

 

Excelsior. Peace Out.

 

2 Responses to “A little Rx from the Good Dr. Hunter S.”

  1. Rachel Hallett October 7, 2012 at 3:23 PM #

    Nano works for me, although it’s only the first stage of many in getting a novel completed. People seem to be quite split on it, though. I guess it’s like a lot of writing methods: try it and see if it helps you. If it does, use it!

    • seanomurphy October 7, 2012 at 3:40 PM #

      Thanks, I think it might be brilliant for forcing the first draft. It might not be the precision targeted missile of writing but like the tommy gun…it gets the job done. No, I am of the opinion that it will force me to write out that first draft and then I can polish it after with revisions and rewrites. Like Hemingway (might have but I am not 100% sure ever) said “Sometimes you just have to sit down and write the damn thing!”

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,845 other followers

