Phoetry

25 Aug

Edenpictures-Eden,Janine,Jim July2007

Jenny Parbery at the blog, Jiltaroo has been experimenting with “Phoetry”, which is capturing an image from a dream to memory or scrawled into a journal and searching out a photograph similar to the image to share. She describes it this way:

“On the edge of sleep, I see a picture, 

Then add another, to make it richer.

In the early hours of this morning I lay in bed thinking about this type of poetry. I’m going to call it “Phoetry”. In that moment before waking, try to grasp and stay hold the image that comes into your mind. Whatever comes first. Then add another to it.”

These two images of standing stones upon a lonely craggy patch of land are very close to images from last night’s dreams of ghostly battles across hard half-frozen ground. I can almost hear the sounds of clanking swords and yelps of warriors poisoned on rage  I wrote this short verse to accompany these images.

Remember the warrior-kings , those blood-eaters

mad as moon baying wolves, strong as cloven-hoofed oxen,

Those who wade out first into battle?

Bear-skinned butchers,

They bear blood-stained blades

Into battle,

Who hack through enemy shields?

Leaves no witness to time,

Left standing are only the stones

To record them.

Standing Stone Sunset

Standing Stone Sunset (Photo credit: Hello, I am Bruce)

This is a fun exercise and one you might duplicate. Concentrate on an image from your dream and find two photographs that resemble them. For more fun and writing practice, write a short piece of verse (or prose) to accompany them.

6 Responses to “Phoetry”

  1. literallylaurie August 25, 2012 at 8:31 PM #

    This is an excellent idea/inspiration. I dream vividly almost every night, and I can’t wait until tomorrow morning now 🙂

    • seanomurphy August 25, 2012 at 8:37 PM #

      I have a couple of vivid dreams a night. I thought of starting a dream journal but felt so groggy when I would awaken that I could barely understand my quick cryptic notes. I did happen to remember and understand the imagery of last night’s dreams. I especially remember these large standing stones with runes upon them.

      It is a fun idea. I recommend you try it and when you do send me a link in comments.

      • literallylaurie August 25, 2012 at 8:41 PM #

        will do…wish I had known about this when I had that Terminator Dachshund dream……lol

  2. jiltaroo August 25, 2012 at 9:42 PM #

    That is brilliant Sean! I have put a link from my blog back to your phoetry. How can the student so quickly become the master!!!!!

    • seanomurphy August 26, 2012 at 1:20 PM #

      Those are kind words. I just tried to follow in the spirit that you put it out there. Thanks for the link.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Phoetry – Sean O. Murphy « Jiltaroo - August 25, 2012

    […] https://verynovel.wordpress.com/2012/08/25/phoetry/ Share this:TwitterFacebookRedditLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. […]

Leave a Reply

