The Inertia of Not Doing.

20 Mar
Just Do It | Nike x Lau

Just Do It | Nike x Lau (Photo credit: achimh)

For writers, it is not uncommon to look at the blinking  prompt at the beginning of  your line and all the white space underneath and feel overwhelmed. I am sure that is something that all writers and bloggers have had to deal with at one point or another. It might not even be the dreaded “block” as much as just the inertia of not doing. When you spend a lot of time away from the keyboard, it can feel impossible to return. You become very aware of how long it has been since you last tapped the keys. The molehill of inconvience becomes the mountain of insecurity, doubt and real anxiety.  You start to think that it is just too hard to get back at it and doubt your ability to return to the routine.

 

English: QWERTY keyboard, on 2007 Sony Vaio la...

English: QWERTY keyboard, on 2007 Sony Vaio laptop computer. Français : Le clavier QWERTY d’un ordinateur portable Sony Vaio de 2007. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)So what do you do to get writing again?

Nike was on to something when they offered the veritable and incredibly simple advice, Just Do It,

It can be as simple as that. Sit down and write the first 250 Words that come to mind. Do some freewriting. The best way to get back on to the horse is with a leap and wrap both legs around the belly and ride. It can be as simple as that. Once, you are back in the practice of dumping 250 words in the morning then the page won’t seem quite as intimidating when you want to do some real writing.  If you can’t do 250 words then do any amount that you can but once you start you will find that 250 words are hardly any at all. Look at this entry so far and I am just barely over 250. Two short paragraphs will get you there. Take a shot you have nothing to lose and your writing habit to gain. So, get back to it and remember the truest of truisms:

 

WRITERS WRITE.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

9 Responses to “The Inertia of Not Doing.”

  1. Maia March 20, 2013 at 4:55 PM #

    Dear Sean O. Murphy,
    Thanks for the pep talk and the shout out!
    Maia (thesaltwatertwin.wordpress.com)

  2. 4amWriter March 20, 2013 at 5:17 PM #

    Thanks for the pingback!

  3. orestgtd March 23, 2013 at 4:11 PM #

    Thanks for the pingback. You are right – sometimes it’s not block, I just don’t want to sit down at the keyboard and think of something to write, and when I do I sometimes pump out something unexpected.

    • jiltaroo June 16, 2013 at 7:41 PM #

      It has been 6 months since I wrote anything. I was too embarrassed to even visit other blogger. I finally got something down on Friday and it felt good. I’m out of practise and it need another edit, but it’s nice to be back and to continue my story.Always enjoy your wisdom. Jiltaroo.

      • orestgtd June 17, 2013 at 3:06 PM #

        I relate to that. Since I boldly proclaimed my personal writing challenge for June, I have had far too few actual sit down and write sessions, and have been a bit embarrassed to blog that :-)

      • seanomurphy June 18, 2013 at 6:08 AM #

        I am unfortunately with you. Remember the runner’s high doesn’t come from crossing the finish line but from each step, breath, and exhilirating push forward.

      • orestgtd June 22, 2013 at 1:34 PM #

        I read your post on freewriting. I use different names for it, but that’s generally the technique I’ve been using to push forward on my work in progress. I’m coming to the conclusion that I’ve done enough freewriting, and need to focus on assembling the pieces into my work in progress. Sewing them in, so to speak.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,846 other followers

